
This is a new page I have created in a personal attempt to fight Internet Abuse. If you have a complaint about a company or organization and would like them to be added to this list of shame, please email me a short synopsis of the problem along with a sample of the offending material, the web url or email address and I will consider adding your listing to the page. Please do not just forward me your spam without an explanation of your displeasure or I'll simply delete your mail. Humor is appreciated. Please send your submittals to rabbett@irh.com Dear Rab...
1) alexa.com
dba Alexa Internet, according to their home page they are "a San Francisco company founded in 1996 by Brewster Kahle and Bruce Gilliat" that sends robots out during prime time hours to catalog the web. Most companies and information services send their robots out at more appropriate times of low traffic, such as between midnight to six a.m. local time. Alexa has no regard for small webs or their prime time traffic. emailing and phoning them had no effect on green.alexa.com, the name of their bandwidth nibbling software. In fact, their rather unintelligent robot did not read the robots.txt on my server until it got to it alphabetically.
2) AOL
dba America On Line - although they profess to listen to complaints in regards to email spamming by their clients via an address of abuse@aol.com, they don't take action. AOL clientele routinely use the service to send out millions of pieces of junk mail each and every day. Too bad too, Steve Case is a local Punahou graduate - you'd think he'd respond more to requests from hometown local folks but doesn't seem to care about much more than money and his fifteen minutes of fame.
3) http://www.iemmc.org
an Internet company formed to use email as a marketing device. Altho they profess to have a server that will remove user addresses from spam lists, the form system set up to do so does not work and/or they ignore such requests. A very high volume of spam comes off their servers. They are the worst offenders I have come across thus far.
More from a "contributor"
"http://www.iemmc.org/
is Wallace "Spamford" Sanford's crude attempt to
lure unsuspecting netizens into giving up their
email address under the guise of removing them
from his Cyberpromo bulk spam lists. Attempts
to even reach the the site are generally
thwarted by a server that is constantly
down, and if you can get through, you
will not be able to bring up the page
that supposedly allows you to be
removed from the list. If, for
some reason you are able to
be "removed" from his list,
prepare to be treated to
so much junk email from
everywhere, you'll
regret ever having
written in the
first place.
"
4) VOTEYES57@aol.com
A group of ACTUP AIDS activists in the Washington D.C. area who continually send out notices of regional issues and spam that does not pertain to anyone outside of the Washington D.C. area. I think they are geographically impaired or a bunch of crack addicts. They refuse all requests to remove spam victims from their mailing lists. They are an AOL customer that AOL will not control.
5) http://www.thehitman.com
Like it says in their spam signatures "We belong to the Direct Email Advertisers Association and the On-line
Marketers Association. Both of these organizations promote professional and
responsible use of email marketing. If you need bulk email services, accounts,
resources, flame-proof emailing, or any of a host of services, go to:
http://www.thehitman.com" - personally, I see something less than professional in an email service that protects the spammer from replies, flames or direct requests for removal from victims of email abuse.
6) http://www.cybertize-email.com
Another email spam company, that doesn't even have an email address on their site. Although they send out millions of pieces of spam daily, the only way to contact them is by long distance phone call. Yeah right....
7) shopper@makecash.net bozos with debit card scams that send out loads of email about another network marketing scheme...ugh. makecash.net appears to be a new player in the email spamming game. I have received numerous network "opportunities" I wouldn't wish on an enemy from this address. http://www.harris-marketing.com/ seems to be where a lot of this crap comes from. Altho they do have a page that claims termination of sites such as makecash.net, the stuff keeps flowing.
Harris also has a remove page http://www.harris-marketing.com/remove.htm, that does not exist and calls up a good ole 404 error. Seems like it is an email marketing company where lots of spammers go to hoodwink Harris as providers and they too have been victimized by clients...serves them right to suffer!
Beware also of healthy@makecash.net and anything from savoynet.com as they also appear to be part of the harris group.

Thanks for the plug Ric Ford!
9) From a contributor:
"savetrees.com
They send more SPAM to the domain that I control than anyone else."
I agree...I have received plenty from them but, not in a while tho. I think the domain name is a pretty weak environmental joke also.
From a contributor:
savetrees.com is a CyberPromo domain. You probably haven't seen any from
there in a while because they have been booted off of their Internet
backbone.
A comment on #9 on your "Hall of Shame" page:
Recently I made an online complaint to the Better Business Bureau about
CyberPromo's constant bombardment of my business email account. I got a
really lame canned response back, and I continue to get CyberPromo
mailings from their many domains. BTW any emails with "answerme.com" are
from CyberPromo as well.
10) From a contributor:
"Pointcast Network
Seriuosly. Here's a real big bandwidth-hog if I've ever seen one. Sure,
getting the latest news and info is terrific, but the Internet *was not
designed to handle the video and streaming garbage that they constantly
send.*
"
Ha ha ha ha...ROTFL...good one! The parallel I think is Prodigy about four or five years ago....no wonder I cancelled my account....thank you!
11) From a contributor:
A great spam reply letter